Perth confirmed to be no longer eligible for 187 Visas (RSMS)


New legislation introduced from 17 November has confirmed businesses will no longer be able to access the 187 Visa program for positions in the Perth metropolitan and surrounding areas.

Since 13 March 2017, the WA Government had been declining certification requests for 187 Visas pending a decision by the Commonwealth on Perth’s exclusion from the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS). A decision has now been confirmed and the Commonwealth has deemed Perth and its surrounding areas as non-regional.

There are some exceptions however – see which areas in WA are still eligible for a 187 Skilled Visa.

How Perth’s non-regional status impacts Subclass 457 and 186 Visas

Employer sponsored visas such as 457 and 186 visas may be subject to caveats for occupations on the Short Term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL) and Medium to Long Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL). Caveats limit the use of eligible occupations for the 457 and 186 visa program under certain circumstances, such as the location of the position.

Now that Perth has been confirmed non regional, any regional caveats will no longer apply to Perth and surrounding areas. Exceptions will apply to positions located in postcodes that are still considered regional – listed here.

The change also impacts age exemptions for those transitioning from a 457 visa to permanent residence, which requires certain nominated positions and employment to be located in regional Australia.

Sheila Woods, Registered Migration Agent 0533879